SASKATCHEWAN AND ALBERTA.

They were administered from Fort Garry by the Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba with the aid, first of a small executive council of three, irregularly appointed, the Hon. Mr. Justice Johnson, the Hon. D. A. Smith and the Hon. Pascal Breland, and then with the aid of a more formal and more regularly appointed but still admittedly provisional Northwest Council. This council addressed itself to the task of laying the foundations of territorial administration. It did much, also, to secure the goodwill of the Indian tribes.

The charter of the separate political existence of the Territories is the Northwest Territories Act, 1875. It was under this Act that the late Hon. David Laird was appointed Lieutenant-Governor. He held a legislative session under the Act of 1875 at Livingstone, Swan River, in 1877. Battleford was the capital for three sessions of the council. The construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway transferred the seat of government to the line of railway, designated at first Leopold, and then Regina. Settlement ceased to follow the course of the rivers. Trade routes for freighters now began to run north and south from the railway. The old Northwest passed away.

At the same time a profound change was being effected in the constitutional character of the Territories. While the capital was still at Battleford, in 1881, Chief Factor Lawrence Clarke was elected to represent the district of Lorne. This constituted the first opportunity given the settlers themselves to express their sentiments in the administration of affairs. Three years later the elected representatives of the people became numerous enough to exert an influence upon legislation. The years that ensued were wonderfully formative. In 1884 the Northwest Council laid the foundations of the territorial school and municipal systems. The crushing of the half-breed uprising in 1885 assured the dominance of the white settlers and permanently banished the spectre of Indian disorders. A year later was established a territorial judiciary. Then followed a parliamentary struggle for the control of the purse. In quick succession came the Advisory Council, the Executive Committee, the Executive Council. In this contest between representatives of the settlers and the Dominion officials victory lay with the people and with the cause of popular government. It was not, however, till 1897, on the eve of a remarkable growth in population and economic development, that the government of the Territories, which for half a decade had been giving expression to the people's will, was made completely responsible in form as it had already been in fact.

The increased volume of immigration necessitated heavier expenditures upon education, public works and local administration. It was impossible to introduce municipal organizations into many districts outside the limits of the denser settlements. The result was to impose upon the Territorial Government excessive burdens. Financial embarrassments gave rise to constitutional aspirations. Finally, after a prolonged agitation, the Saskatchewan and Alberta Acts provided for the erection on September 1st, 1905, of two provinces, Saskatchewan and Alberta.